Thread: How does the free market handle monopolies?

How does the free market handle monopolies?

I'm still new to the completely free market idea.

2. Remove this section of ads by registering.
    http://www.jewishworldreview.com/col...iams041200.asp start with this article. Government can play a vital role such as anti trust laws and other areas but our govt. regulations actually a lot of times create monopolies.
    "Remember that a government big enough to give you everything you want is also big enough to take away everything you have.” Barry Goldwater

Quote Originally Posted by johnrocks View Post
    our govt. regulations actually a lot of times create monopolies.
    Very true. A thing called "creative destruction" is just a fancy phrase for government protected monopoly. I can't really explain how a free market can handle a monopoly, because we don't handle monopolies, we usually have to deal with a handful of companies that control the market, which in my opinion is almost as bad as monopoly once they reach common ground.

- D.O.

Yeah, Dr. Paul talks about it briefly in his Candidates@Google speach.

Here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yCM_wQy4YVg

Quote Originally Posted by Defining Obscene View Post
    ...we usually have to deal with a handful of companies that control the market, which in my opinion is almost as bad as monopoly once they reach common ground..
    Wikipedia: Oligopoly

Free market monopolies hardly ever exist. They are the exception, not the rule.
    "None are more hopelessly enslaved than those who falsely believe that they are free." -Göthe
    "All that is required for evil to prevail is for good men to do nothing." - Edmund Burke
    "Government is a disease masquerading as its own cure." - Robert LeFevre

Quote Originally Posted by Defining Obscene View Post