Thread: Electoral vs Popular Vote

Electoral vs Popular Vote

I'm still new to how this whole thing works. How would you address this:

I spent 4 years studying the electoral system; what do I know. Note only that, but he does not have very many friends for the electoral votes. You do realize that you cannot be president based on the popular votes? If you research the Senators and the US Reps and the number of votes they can cast per their constitutes; most the electoral votes are called for already. Whose vote in the Senate and House of Representatives does he have in his pocket? This is after all politics.

2. Remove this section of ads by registering.
    In the entire history of electoral college, they went with the popular vote when concerning the president.
    (mind you, they dont have to.)
    Just remember... Price of security is freedom. RG

I could address it, if you can translate that quote into English

Popular vote v. Electoral

That's not how it works.

The electoral vote is based on the popular vote in each state. If a candidate wins the popular vote in a state, his slate of electors is elected.

Each state has electoral votes based on the number of reps and senators they have. Each state has at least 3.

The person who wins the popular vote in states totalling 270 or more electoral votes is the winner.

This is how it works 95% of the time.

If there is no electoral vote winner -- the election is decided in the House. In that scenario, each state gets 1 vote -- that vote is decided by a majority vote of their congressional delegation.

In short -- get the popular votes you need, and you'll probably win.

Huey
    Huey P. Long, "The Kingfish"
    Former Governor, Senator and leading opponent of the Big Bankers.
    Kingfish Consulting: Experience winning elections, since 1928.