Thread: What's Wrong With The Tebow Bill? An Open Letter to Texas Homeschoolers

What's Wrong With The Tebow Bill? An Open Letter to Texas Homeschoolers

What's Wrong With The Tebow Bill?

An Open Letter to Texas Homeschoolers

IMPORTANT Please note that the following piece is in regard to the version of the Tebow bill that was submitted and considered in 2013. The contact information at the end is also related to that year's version. I will try to get updated information here soon. In the meantime, please also note that the 2015 version isn't any better than the previous version and that all of the arguments below still apply. In other words, the Tebow Bill is still a very bad idea.

Originally posted: April 18, 2013

Introduction

My name is Fred Watt. My wife Terri and I have been homeschooling our eight children for over 20 years. We are on the board of directors of the Conroe Area Christian Home Educators (CACHE), representing over 150 homeschooling families in the Montgomery County area. I am also the director of the Northside Falcons, a Christian homeschool baseball program, also based in Montgomery County.

I recently testified before the Texas House Committee on Public Education in opposition to the so-called "Tebow Bill" (HB 1374). Since that time, and even before then, I have been asked by others why it is that we would be against this bill which, on the surface appears to be opening up the door for further opportunities for homeschoolers by forcing the public schools to allow homeschoolers to participate in UIL-sanctioned activities such as sports teams, arts and sciences competitions, and more.

And, in fact, that is how it is being presented to us by proponents of the bill, including the Texas Homeschool Coalition (THSC). But while THSC has done some wonderful work on behalf of homeschoolers in the past, we believe they are coming down on the wrong side on this issue and should instead be standing with us in opposition.