Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Does Rand Support a VAT Tax?

Does Rand Support a VAT Tax?

https://www.lewrockwell.com/lrc-blog...oposing-a-vat/

Can anyone confirm this? does Rand Paul's tax plan include a VAT Tax? if so, this is very scary and a horrible idea. how can he justify this?

2. Remove this section of ads by registering.
    Anyone who supports a VAT tax can go $#@! themselves.

It seemed to be a limited version. Don't count me as an expert, I don't see where it adds to every level of production.

Personally, I would have left out the business tax and just settled for a higher income tax rate.

Quote Originally Posted by sparebulb View Post

Does Rand?????
    Last edited by TommyJeff; 11-15-2015 at 08:27 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by TaftFan View Post
    It seemed to be a limited version. Don't count me as an expert, I don't see where it adds to every level of production.

Personally, I would have left out the business tax and just settled for a higher income tax rate.
    Thank you. I will take a closer look at this tax plan. I am not an expert either. Hopefully Rand can explain this possible situation.

But, if there is a 'limited VAT' in this plan(or any plan, talking in more of a theoretical perspective). Couldnt the rates of this 'VAT' be increased at a future date, causing a bigger problem on a tax most people cant 'see'?

Quote Originally Posted by TommyJeff View Post
    if so, this is very scary and a horrible idea.
    Why?

VAT is one of the most efficient forms of taxation.

It eliminates most of the administrative and compliance costs associated with the income tax.

So where is the added value?

Quote Originally Posted by r3volution 3.0 View Post
    Why?

It eliminates most of the administrative and compliance costs associated with the income tax.
    huh?

10. Remove this section of ads by registering.
    Why?

A consumption tax is the best tax in virtually every respect. It creates the fewest distortions