Thread: Can an Economics Teacher secretly do stand up comedy on the side?

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

Can an Economics Teacher secretly do stand up comedy on the side?

I've been teaching high school economics for a few years but I want to bring the liberty message to more people. I also want to make more money and pursue my passion and for once actually speak my mind and have fun at the same time. My friends and students always tell me, in different words, that I do an awesome job of explaining how f*cked up the government is in a funny yet easy to understand way. I know I could do this sh*t and I know when the sh*t hits the fan I want to do comedy over teaching considering I don't want to work for the government and I hate the bullsh*t communist method of handing out teacher promotions. I live near New York and I think I could blend in and do comedy under a different name. Could I pull this off? Do I even care?
    "If a nation expects to be ignorant and free, in a state of civilization, it expects what never was and never will be." - Thomas Jefferson

"It does not require a majority to prevail, but rather an irate, tireless minority keen to set brush fires in people's minds" - Sam Adams

2. Remove this section of ads by registering.
    New York State bans stand up by high school economics teachers in their collective bargaining contract with the teachers' union.

Quote Originally Posted by Confederate View Post
    New York State bans stand up by high school economics teachers in their collective bargaining contract with the teachers' union.
    I teach in NJ
    Last edited by Gumba of Liberty; 01-03-2013 at 04:10 PM.
    "If a nation expects to be ignorant and free, in a state of civilization, it expects what never was and never will be." - Thomas Jefferson

"It does not require a majority to prevail, but rather an irate, tireless minority keen to set brush fires in people's minds" - Sam Adams