Thread: What is Warren Buffet afraid of?

What is Warren Buffet afraid of?

I keep getting amazed in this discussion of "millionaire" tax rates that virtually nobody is bringing up the obvious issue of wealth versus income. Someone who makes a million dollars in one year is not necessarily a millionaire, especially if you're taking away 30% of his income like Obama wants to do.

The comparison between people in lower tax brackets is legitimate. However, there's another more important comparison that I'm sure wealthy people like Warren Buffet, Bill Gates, etc don't want anybody to talk about. If I'm a plumber who has a net worth of $200,000 equity in my house, and I sell my plumbing business for $1 million dollars in one year, does that make me rich? By today's standards I don't think so. Another example, if I make $5,000 per year for 20 years and one year make $1 million, am I rich? I don't think so.

A more just method of deciding who is subject to the income tax and at what rate would be to look at personal wealth. So even if Warren Buffet makes only $10,000 in one year, that has a high tax rate. If you have no assets and make $500,000 in one year, you shouldn't pay any income tax.

This is what wealthy people like Warren Buffet who advocate higher tax rates for higher incomes are afraid of in my view, that we will start looking at personal wealth, instead of yearly income, to decide who pays taxes or not.

The issue is very deep and goes to the heart of how elite financial & government interests control resources, capital, & people in our society. By letting individual wealth accumulate for less wealthy people without the burden of taxation, government & the super rich are giving up control. By unburdening the majority of people from the reporting requirements of the income tax, you're also giving up control. Governments and elite don't like that.