Thread: Is an aircraft mechanic a well-paying job?

Is an aircraft mechanic a well-paying job?

I'm currently a 22-year-old community-college student who certainly needs to find a job but I believe that community college might not the best choice to assist me considering that I've been there for too long because of my mathematics difficulties and course re-takes.

I was wondering if anyone who's worked as an aircraft mechanic/technician/or anything similar has any insight on whether it is a good job to consider.

Did you attend an apprenticeship? Is it a good job field right now? Were you required to join a union?

Any insights would be greatly appreciated.

2. Remove this section of ads by registering.
    I've been around a number of aircraft mechanics. There is good money to be paid with the big airlines. That will probably require you to join a union.

The job security is not pretty. Airlines are fickle businesses. They earn a boat load of money one year and lose it all in the next. You're faced with a lot of mergers and bankruptcies that will mess with your union contracts and seniority.

You'll get to fly standby for free ... but then you'll learn that the flights are so over-sold that you don't stand much practical chance of getting anywhere.

Don't forget that the military hires many civilian aircraft mechanics and they pay well.
    Welcome to the USSA.

America, the Doctor will free you now.