Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 100% Whole Wheat Bread from Scratch (With Pics)

Talking 100% Whole Wheat Bread from Scratch (With Pics)

Ok, Well its taken about 20 test loafs, but I have finally made it. Thats right, I have created 100% Whole Wheat Bread from scratch with spectacular results. The process has been long and frustrating, but the reward of being able to bake my own bread from scratch is certainly worth the failures that I suffered through.

What inspired me to bake my own bread, as opposed to buying it from the store?
    The backbone behind baking my own bread came from an urgency to create a self sufficient food supply (or at least build up long enough storage to last a year). As I am a college student, sandwiches are an absolute staple of my everyday food. I probably go through a loaf and a half a week and thought that this was the first food I needed to "add" to the food storage program.

Achieving food stocks that last over a year

To be able to bake bread for a year or longer, I needed to get materials that would not spoil within a year. This meant grinding my own flour and making the recipe as simple as possible. The recipe that I chose relies on 7 simple ingredients. They are: water, milk, whole wheat flour, honey, canola oil, salt, and yeast. If needed the oil and milk can be substituted for with just water or for the milk you could use milk powder. There is no problem storing water, honey, or salt. The other four all have storage lives all over a year. In the event that resources were cut off for up to a year, this recipe would work out fine for me.

Grinders and Wheat