Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: So I'm Switching to Linux...

So I'm Switching to Linux...

Can anyone give me some suggestions for which distribution I should get?

Here is some basic info about what I want to do with my computer. I'll be using it to:

- Number crunch (Matlab, Mathematica, Maple, etc)
    - Write office documents, spreadsheets, powerpoints, etc (Open Office I'm assuming)
    - Surf the web, email, forums, etc
    - Organize music and movies

Aside from those things, not so much more. I don't play any games at all (except for tetris, but that's online). I also don't want programs that I won't be using, but I know I'll need some things that I might not think of.

Right now people are telling me to get Ubuntu. What do you guys all think? I'm a linux noob pretty much, also.

2. Remove this section of ads by registering.
    Ubuntu is what I'd use. While I love Ubuntu, I use Vista, because I'm lazy. No, I don't have all sorts of virus problems and I don't spend hours with virus software. The only virus software I use is Microsoft's security essencials, anyways just my 2 cents.
    " Anyone can become angry. That is easy. But to be angry with the right person, to the right degree, at the right time, for the right purpose and in the right way - that is not easy." --Aristotle

Ubuntu is very popular, Due to marketing mostly.
    I have never been fond of it, but that is one of the great things about Linux..Choices.
    There are many, and I have played with several.

I like and have been using PCLinusOS since 2004. Nice Distro, User friendly, a friendly support forum.
    Several set-ups. (desktop managers) KDE, Gnome, Elightenment, Xfce, etc.
    It comes full featured or in a striped down version that you can add to yourself.
    http://www.pclinuxos.com/
    http://www.pclinuxos.com/forum/index.php

My first was Slackware, Solid system, but less newbie friendly.
    There are free systems and Purchase systems (Novel, Red Hat, Mandrake, Xandros)