Thread: What's the best method when looking for jobs online?

What's the best method when looking for jobs online?

So, I'm unemployed. $#@!.

I've been searching for a new job for the past month and haven't had any luck. I've signed up for a few agencies and visit the big job boards like monster, yahoo, careerbuilder, and the like. Still no luck.

I need the upper edge on the other candidates applying for the same position because I graduated college in June 08 and haven't gained any experience in my field. I worked in HR and accounting until my organization got downsized. So I kinda $#@!ed up not looking for a job in my field once I graduated. Are there better/less-obvious ways to look for jobs online that most other people don't know about? I feel like the jobs I'm applying for are already flooded with fresher/newer potential candidates which leaves me in the dust.

I'm also not very experienced writing cover letters. I googled it and all the samples I got were the same boring/standard writing procedures. Anyone have samples or guides I can follow?

Here are my stats:
    • BS in Biochemistry
    • Have the education to work in either field, chemistry or biology.
    • Have plenty of academic lab experience, just not professional experience.
    • Would probably be best suited to an entry-level position that doesn't pay much at first -- need to get foot in door.
    • Live in the Chicagoland area.
    • Am willing to take position in any of the following and more: lab technician, quality control chemist, chemical manufacturing, research assistant, food safety/testing. etc.

Any suggestions are welcome.

Note: I know the economy is in a slump right now. I'm not trying to think about that. Let's keep it optimistic.

2. Remove this section of ads by registering.

Since you don't think you have much experience, dissect the experience you have. What did you actually DO? Were you in charge of anything or anyone? Was there an increasing level of responsibility?