Thread: 401k with company match?

401k with company match?

You should I continue investing in...

http://www.marketwatch.com/investing/fund/rerfx

The company I have has company match, that's the only reason why it even seems appealing. Should I continue invest into it, or just stay out of the 401k game all together?

2. Remove this section of ads by registering.
    Even TIME magazine had an article about the death of the 401k. 401k's were companies way avoiding giving employees pension plans. That way, they could make more money because their employees were getting funds for their retirement elsewhere. Of course, 401k's aren't the best managed instruments, and are susceptible to market downturns.

I'm not an expert on them though, so you should stick around for more knowledgeable folks on this forum.
    if modern agriculture continues to follow the path it's on now, it's finished. The food-growing situation may seem to be in good shape today, but that's just an illusion based on the current availability of petroleum fuels. All the wheat, corn, and other crops that are produced on big American farms may be alive and growing, but they're not products of real nature or real agriculture. They're manufactured rather than grown. The earth isn't producing those things.. petroleum is! -Masanobu Fukuoka

I think you should invest at least enough to get the company match, its basically free money.

Just the match portion of my 401k, for about 5 years of work is over 20k now, and the stock throws off a 3% dividend (roughly).

Opinions vary on if you should contribute over what the company matches. If you are young, it might make sense to go with a post-tax roth, rather than a pre-tax ira/401k..

Quote Originally Posted by BenIsForRon View Post