Thread: Good Gun Information?

Good Gun Information?

I have never owned a gun before and have only been shooting a few times. Could some more experienced people point me to some good information sources where I can learn more because I would like to buy some in the near future? Also, any suggestions on guns I should look at for my first purchases that are not too expensive?

Thanks.

2. Remove this section of ads by registering.
    See my signature for books and websites on Guns. I'm a newbie myself, so that's about all I can do for ya at the moment.

And some shooting ranges offer lessons and also rent firearms on site.
    Yellow Pages in your area or contact the NRA

Then I wouldn't recommend a hand cannon to a woman or small framed person, we'd need more info about you to make intelligent suggestions. Like what do you need the firearm for?

Quote Originally Posted by Objectivist View Post
    And some shooting ranges offer lessons and also rent firearms on site.
    Yellow Pages in your area or contact the NRA

Then I wouldn't recommend a hand cannon to a woman or small framed person, we'd need more info about you to make intelligent suggestions. Like what do you need the firearm for?
    I'm a 22 year old male, 145lbs, 5'5''. I'd use it just to shoot at a range or elsewhere and defense if it ever became necessary. Also, I'm thinking about getting two guns for now. A handgun and a shotgun or rifle.

Quote Originally Posted by mport1 View Post
    I'm a 22 year old male, 145lbs, 5'5''. I'd use it just to shoot at a range or elsewhere and defense if it ever became necessary. Also, I'm thinking about getting two guns for now. A handgun and a shotgun or rifle.
    9mm or .380 would be something about your size in pistol. I like to stay with common ammo sizes in case it ever comes to that point where you need ammo.