Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Some more info on Schiff's new Mutual Fund...experts, help?

Some more info on Schiff's new Mutual Fund...experts, help?

Need a translator...is this expensive? Minimum is $2500. This is for EPHCX btw

The load is 4.5%, but works its way down with investments over 50k. The management fee is 1.15%/year, with a .25% 12b1 fee. The fund had been in cash, but has been moving into positions over the last week. The largest position therefore is mainly cash, but the top ten (equity holdings) should be posted next month.
    I'm not an expert but that doesn't sound very cool. Is even having a "load" at all very common? Is that the initial cost to get in? Also what are they talking about "cash"? As in, not yuan?
    Last edited by muh_roads; 08-26-2009 at 10:22 PM.

2. Remove this section of ads by registering.
    Quote Originally Posted by Paladin69 View Post
    Need a translator...is this expensive? Minimum is $2500. This is for EPHCX btw

I'm not an expert but that doesn't sound very cool. Is even having a "load" at all very common? Is that the initial cost to get in? Also what are they talking about "cash"? As in, not yuan?
    A mutual fund load is a transaction fee.

Cash typically means in a money market, or a short term bond, which is basically like holding cash in a savings account with a slightly better interest rate.

I wouldn't recommend investing in Schiffs mutual fund. It's like investing in the company you work for, you have too much emotional interest to make rational decisions. Plus you are paying someone else to decide what to do with your money with the belief that they have some magical knowledge as to what the market is going to do in the future.

If you are looking for somewhere safe to put your money than look no further than Harry Browne's fail safe investing.

http://crawlingroad.com/blog/harry-b...olio-archives/