Thread: Gold Standard, Silver Standard, or Bimetallism ??

Gold Standard, Silver Standard, or Bimetallism ??

Does anyone have insight into this as to which one is better, or the weaknesses of having either or? Are there any Mises Institute articles/videos on this subject (particularly on silver standard/bimetallism as I'm currently studying the gold standard) and the pros and cons of either system? Greatly appreciated

2. Remove this section of ads by registering.
    While gold is generally considered the best currency by Austrians, they mostly recommend a "no-standard". That is, that no currency should have government backing and the frede market should determine which currency is dominant.

While I'm not into bimetallism, I do not judge those who are.
    Definition of political insanity: Voting for the same people expecting different results.

I think the best would be what we freely choose to use. Many would choose varying mediums based upon what works best for their situations. As trades/trading progressed some mediums would likely become more dominant but wither it be ducks, beans, gold, or rocks a freely operating (especially with parallel monies) system would be best.

Just as businesses now accept, variously, fiat dollars, bank checks, visa, mastercard, discover, AmEx, or just a couple of those, so could businesses accept payment in gold or silver, with some choosing not to take zinc.

I see these commodities set up in accounts similar to Visa -- in fact Visa itself could do this -- so commerce would be little different than it is today. These electronic precious metal debit card companies would operate on their reputation, and if any were found to be playing fractional reserve, they'd lose customers.
    In your hearts, you know he's right.

Any Mises.org literature on this??

Quote Originally Posted by socialize_me View Post