Thread: Best Place to buy 100 oz. Silver

Best Place to buy 100 oz. Silver

I need some help guys. I am new to the hard money market. I am looking to buy 100 oz. silver bar. What is the best way to go about it.
    Thanks

2. Remove this section of ads by registering.
    100oz. bars are fun to hold, but they can be a pain to sell. I'd go with something smaller.

Otherwise, I like APMEX.

http://apmex.com

I second that. Not only do they usually need to be reweighed and certified if you take them out of the package but you also will pay a premium over spot on it. And if you ever want to sell you have to find someone with $2000. Bartering is pretty much out of the question because you have a huge block of silver worth more in value than almost anything you'll be trading for.

Buy "junk" silver US 90% or 40% silver coins. You can usually get them at spot with no premium, you will be able to sell them in small amounts to several buyers if you want and they're great for bartering if we ever end up in a hard money world again.

Not only that but seeing about 700 40% silver half dollars spread across your table or floor is way cooler than a single block in my opinion.

Also with the coins there should never be a question of authenticity or purity arise whereas unless you get a well recognized branded bar and leave it in the original packaging some people may be leery of buying it from you.
    1959-1982 95% Copper Lincoln pennies for sale by the roll , box, or by the pound. PM me for more info.

Just curious-- is there a reason you want a big bar instead of coins?

I can see advantages to a bar-- it's compact (especially compared to junk silver), and it has a smaller surface area that can tarnish, and it's cheaper per ounce.

It's usually not cheaper per ounce than junk silver. I've always been able to get US junk silver coins at or below spot. There is always a small premium on the bars.