PDA

View Full Version : First jobs to go?

Phunbaba
01-21-2008, 11:59 PM
What are the first jobs to go in a recession/depression? I would assume loans and manufacturing jobs, but I'm not an economic guru.

I am a writer, so I will still be fine, but my wife is an auditer. She audits banks for a private firm. What is her job security? Explain your position as well. Thanks!

EDIT: A little more specific: she audits community banks, not the big corporate ones.

Matt Collins
01-22-2008, 01:03 AM
Art + recreation?

Anywhere that disposable income for non-necessity items/services.

Warrior_of_Freedom
01-22-2008, 01:04 AM
stock brokers :O

derdy
01-22-2008, 01:10 AM
Finances, banks, construction, small businesses, etc etc etc.

Brian4Liberty
01-22-2008, 10:10 PM
What are the first jobs to go in a recession/depression?

You mean after all of the job losses that have led to this depression?

Auto workers, garment workers, farm workers, steel workers, customer service reps, computer programmers, construction workers, restaurant workers, manufacturing/production workers of all kinds, some doctors/nurses, etc. I'm sure I missed others...

Of course today it is mortgage and real estate related workers getting hit big...big banks like Citibank will be cutting a lot of jobs. Construction is dropping off to nothing...

Live Free or Die
01-22-2008, 10:24 PM
You mean after all of the job losses that have led to this depression?

Auto workers, garment workers, farm workers, steel workers, customer service reps, computer programmers, construction workers, restaurant workers, manufacturing/production workers of all kinds, some doctors/nurses, etc. I'm sure I missed others...

Of course today it is mortgage and real estate related workers getting hit big...big banks like Citibank will be cutting a lot of jobs. Construction is dropping off to nothing...