PDA

View Full Version : Real-World Math Ignorance, Financial Crash and Dumbing Kids Down

TheEvilDetector
07-28-2007, 12:16 PM
All of this and more in here

http://www.mysteriesofthemind.com/images/white%20paper%20crash%202005.pdf

Very interesting information.

Sad, tragic you might say but true.

giskard
07-28-2007, 12:53 PM
Thanks for the link. I'll be forwarding this around.
The books I link below talks about the corruption of the educational system, among many topics.

jjschless
07-28-2007, 01:08 PM
My younger brother just graduated from high school and his basic thought was that, "They just want you to graduate so you can start paying taxes, it's a joke."

Now I graduated from the same school 10 years ago and I can say with confidence that the teachers and the education I recieved were great. I enjoyed the advanced classes and learned a great deal that I still put to use today.

But I suppose if you want sheeple, you need to keep them dumb.

lucius
07-28-2007, 01:31 PM
All of this and more in here

http://www.mysteriesofthemind.com/images/white%20paper%20crash%202005.pdf

Very interesting information.

Sad, tragic you might say but true.

Thank you!

"A great civilization is not conquered from without until it has destroyed itself from within." W. Durant

John Taylor Gatto's 'The Underground History of American Education' is very powerful for waking up literate individuals. The whole book at link: http://www.johntaylorgatto.com/underground/toc1.htm

TheMikael
07-28-2007, 01:57 PM
Thanks for the link...will be reading it. :)

I'm in high school and have been taught (so far) many difficult complex formulas and subjects...with more to come (trig :( ). I would say that almost all (if not all) of what i have been (and will be) taught is going to be useless in the real world. Its frustrating to receive poor grades in some math that I will never use in the future.