PDA

View Full Version : TV season over WRITERS CONTRACTS CANCELLED , Economy gets WORSE

Falseflagop
01-15-2008, 12:51 PM
as RON predicted!

http://news.yahoo.com/s/ap/20080115/ap_on_en_tv/hollywood_labor

I personally will not miss these guys.

Azprint
01-15-2008, 12:53 PM
Whatever I don't watch this shit to care :) main thing is that Jon Stewart and Colbert are back on duty.

thehittgirl
01-15-2008, 12:59 PM
I wonder with less of in an home hypnotist AKA the TV, if people will start waking up.

Chase
01-15-2008, 01:06 PM
Heh. I'm not a pro union guy. I don't, however, see any basis in a free society for excluding unions. In any case, I can't help but smile and yell "CALLED YOUR BLUFF!" on this one.

freedominnumbers
01-15-2008, 01:14 PM
Unions are meant to keep people from slave conditions, not to dictate wage and benefit levels with government backing.

I've always felt that the responsible thing for a business to do in a time of strike is to fire all striking employees and offer to rehire anyone who leaves the union at their previous wage and replace anyone who doesn't come along.

DeadtoSin
01-15-2008, 01:16 PM
The unions now are just money grubbers. If there are serious workers rights cases going on, great! Let them get involved and make the businesses miserable. Its ridiculous to go up to visit my grandpa in Michigan and find out that the cashiers have a union that gets them $15+ an hour. You are a cashier not an artisan!

Those unions strong arm companies and try to make them go out of business to basically extort money.

acptulsa
01-15-2008, 01:22 PM
The unions did much to end the Robber Baron bad old days a hundred years ago. They have also done much to set back the labor movement with their featherbedding and their mob connections. They are, like most things, both good and bad.