PDA

View Full Version : Iraq Vet letter for California canvassing

SgtBulldog
01-15-2008, 08:45 AM
I've drafted a letter to use to target California voters. If anyone would like a copy of the PDF to use, please PM your email address.

Dear Neighbor,

I am an Iraq War Veteran and a XXXXXXXXXXX resident would like you to consider voting for Congressman Ron Paul in the upcoming California Republican Presidential Primary. Ron Paul is a 10-term U.S. Representative, a veteran of the U.S. Air Force, and an OB/GYN physician who has delivered over 4,000 babies.

As a Sgt. in the U.S. Marine Corps, I was deployed to Iraq during the initial invasion in 2003. Working as a Civil Affairs NCO, I was able to speak with many Iraqis during my tour in An Nasiriyah, Al Kut, Al Hillah, Basrah, and Baghdad and while many were grateful that Saddam was gone, the majority hoped that our forces would leave soon. I asked them through an interpreter when they thought the coalition should leave their country and they would usually reply with “a few months, maybe a year.” Remember, this was almost 5 years ago. All of the Iraqis I met were very kind and hospitable people who, like us, just want their families to be safe and to hold a stable job. That is impossible while we occupy their country. Almost 4,000 of my military brothers and sisters have given their lives already. I believe it is now time for us to come home, and 71% of Iraqis in a recent poll agree. Ron Paul voted against the Iraq War Resolution in 2002, is the only major candidate to pledge that our troops will leave Iraq as fast and as safely as possible, and has received the most donations from active and retired military than any other candidate.