PDA

View Full Version : What Ron Needs to do, and not do

cheapgunpartscom
01-11-2008, 09:21 AM
First, let me say that I have worked in major market radio for over 25 years, and I am an expert on is how to present yourself to the public to gain there favor. (I have never had anything less than top 3 ratings in my demos anytime in my career)
So here are my observations from last night (SC) on Ron:

1) He needs to get (or find a better one) a hearing aid. He came off looking terrible when he said he could not hear the questions (while the other politicians had no trouble). I don't know if FOX was having them wear ear pieces and his was defective (surprise!), but he came off in that segment looking like a befuddled old uncle instead of the extremely sharp politician he is.

2) He needs to SLOW DOWN and THINK about what he is saying. He seemed to be rushing way to much with his answers, and his thoughts at times seemed to drift all over the place. Like his answer about the speed boats attacking the destroyer. He needed to be slow and precise and say that the officers did there jobs well, and THEN pause and go into the area of how our leaders are looking at an incident like this to have an excuse to invade Iran and other parts of the mid east. His message was good, but the presentation was terrible. Thompson on the other hand was slow and precise, well thought out, and EFFECTIVE. This is what ron needs more of. Maybe a public speaking coach would help.

3) Having a 60 second dramatic paid commercial in the debate show commercial break would have been killer. it is too bad there was not one as the WHOLE COUNTRY WAS WATCHING.

4) Make up....the TV lens is not kind, and the lens will make a person who looks old and tired look almost like a monster, while a good make-up artist can do subtle things to make you look young and robust to the TV lens. I am sure that happened whith Thompson. He looked great (compared to what he normally looks like).