PDA

View Full Version : Question- I own a small direct mail company..

Nikoa
01-04-2008, 10:26 PM
I own a small direct mail company that mails about 180,000 per year and I want to donate RP ads, do I need to get them approved? I am having my graphics team duplicate some of the current bumper stickers and other ads Ive seen.

~Chad

all4one
01-05-2008, 08:41 AM
Let's get Chad a little legal help on this folks!

I'm not a lawyer.

But if I understand the ways of the campaign laws and such - It appears your proposed efforts would fall in the category of an independent expense. According to the FEC, I believe that if your Ron Paul materials are marked in such a way as to inform the recipient that it is not affiliated with the Ron Paul campaign efforts nor asks them to donate money to the official campaign - you may be good to go!

I know there are some brilliant people who read these forums and can clarify this for you. Here's an excerpt from the FEC's website regarding public funding (http://www.fec.gov/pages/brochures/pubfund.shtml).

Independent Expenditures

In both the primary and general elections, you may make your own "independent expenditures" to support or oppose a Presidential candidate, whether or not the candidate receives public funds. An independent expenditure is an expenditure for a communication that expressly advocates the election or defeat of a clearly identified candidate. An independent expenditure is not considered a contribution and therefore does not count against contribution limits as long as the expenditure is completely independent of the candidate's campaign. This means you may not make the expenditure at the request or suggestion of the candidate or his/her aides or with their consent. Nor may you consult or cooperate in any way with the candidate or campaign aides. Additionally, you may not use any material prepared by the candidate or campaign in the communication.