PDA

View Full Version : Guide to identifying trolls

davidhperry
12-30-2007, 12:10 AM
I'm not an expert at spotting trolls but I've definitely seen my fair share of trolls and trollish behavior on this forum - more and more every day.

I've made some notes about how to spot potential trolls. This list is not exhaustive and I encourage you to add to it as well in subsequent posts - I'll update the list. Also, I'm not accusing anyone in particular of being a troll, even if they display this kind of behavior. However, I think that people should be on guard.

Hence, the list:

Someone who attacks with a post count in the single digits. If someone with a post count of 1 or 2 is ranting, that's all they came here to do. This also might be an "established" user who has created an alternate account in order to rant about something or personally attack another user without "outting" their other username.

Posts along the lines of: "I almost had my friend converted to Dr. Paul, then they asked me about [this]" - (insert outrageous/untrue smear of Dr. Paul here). Sometimes this is a legit question and sometimes it's a troll fishing to stir up something.

No matter how many posts they have, they are continuously and habitually negative/tearing others down/etc. These are the demoralizers. Some are trolls who intentionally do it and some do it without realizing it.

Don't assume people with high post counts are "friendlies." This is a large and busy forum and it's fairly easy to inflate your post count by bumping or doing a lot of meaningless "filler" posts. Some trolls are very patient and have been establishing reputations here over the course of weeks/months only to start trouble when it counts (like in the few days before elections). Just because they have several hundred posts or more does not mean they've "proven" themselves.

Someone who advocates violence or other things (illegal or otherwise) that are incongruent with the ideals that Dr. Paul espouses.