12-29-2007, 01:33 AM
:)

nayjevin
12-29-2007, 05:25 AM
http://img401.imageshack.us/img401/7785/tvwonder1gl6.jpg

http://img172.imageshack.us/img172/5439/penguinonthronebh2.jpg

tbarnett17
12-29-2007, 12:38 PM
I am a video/media editor for a local TV station and would LOVE to be involved in this in any way I can! Just let me know what I can do. -Tyler

BeFranklin
12-29-2007, 06:12 PM
Whats the max we can get for a streaming internet broadcast? What about a high number like 1 million - ie can we beat Fox ratings if we had the technology?

xao
12-29-2007, 11:52 PM
Whats the max we can get for a streaming internet broadcast? What about a high number like 1 million - ie can we beat Fox ratings if we had the technology?

Great question. No idea.

ghemminger
12-30-2007, 12:04 AM
Interested!

AceNZ
12-30-2007, 03:21 AM
0zzy and tbarnett17, you have been added.

0zzy
12-30-2007, 03:22 AM
I've been involved in video production projects. Mostly helping write/produce.

AceNZ
12-30-2007, 03:42 AM

Let's run through the numbers:

Video resolution depends directly on a combination of available bandwidth and the amount of motion in the scene. If we were to compress using a modern codec like divx/xvid/mpeg4, we should be able to deliver a full resolution single stream with about 140KBps end-to-end. With protocol overhead, that would be around 175Kbps net on-the-wire. A low-res stream should be doable at about 25% of that number, or 44Kbps.

One million point-to-point low-res streams from a single head-end would be around 44Kbps * 1M or 44Gbps. Even in a modern co-location facility, getting more than 1Gbps is challenging. Delivering 44Gbps is possible, but it would be extremely expensive, and would require global redistribution through a caching provider like Akamai, and bottlenecks would still be apparent in places. Doing 1M full-resolution shows would take 4X as much bandwidth -- that seems beyond the reach of current technology.