PDA

View Full Version : I'm not even a citizen, but I donated money

giskard
07-07-2007, 04:47 PM
I have NEVER donated money before, and used to be very apathetic towards politics.. until Ron Paul. I am a permanent resident, not a citizen (came here legally).

Anyone resemble my remarks?

BarryDonegan
07-07-2007, 04:50 PM
whats your nation of origin?

FreedomLover
07-07-2007, 04:59 PM
Same for me, except I was born here.

qednick
07-07-2007, 05:09 PM
Me too. GC holder from the UK. Can't apply for citizenship till early 2009.
Wife is a native Texan so at least she can vote. :)

Nefertiti
07-07-2007, 05:57 PM
I'm just hoping my Egyptian husband gets his citizenship in time to vote in the general election (he is eligible to apply at the end of Sept.). I turned him on to Ron Paul and hope he will be able to do some campaigning to other Egyptians here with US citizenship.

He was issued his immigrant visa in a lightning fast 2 months 2.5 years ago at the American embassy in Cairo and hopefully his citizenship application won't take long either. It helps I think that he has an unusual last name because there is no chance they will confuse him with someone on one of those "terrorist watch lists." :(

kylejack
07-07-2007, 07:05 PM
Aren't foreign donations illegal, though?

Duckman
07-07-2007, 07:09 PM

I think it's through his American citizen wife...

PaleoForPaul
07-07-2007, 07:15 PM

Are they? I was always wondering that, because international support for Dr. Paul I suspect would be high.

Avalon
07-07-2007, 07:19 PM
Are they? I was always wondering that, because international support for Dr. Paul I suspect would be high.

They can always indirectly support a candidate via PACs/507's and funding events/ads themselves directly.

Defining Obscene
07-07-2007, 07:26 PM
Good to hear Ron Paul is reaching the masses. I am ashamed to say that I haven't donated yet and I am a citizen. But I have pledged to vote and support Ron Paul every way possible.

giskard