PDA

View Full Version : Students: Remember your Target Audience!

JRegs85
12-14-2007, 01:50 AM
I am a college student, and I am aware that college students tend to support Ron Paul for reasons that are often not traditonally Republican.

Remember, caucus-goers in Iowa are going to be mostly traditional, Christian conservatives. So if you love Ron Paul because he opposes the Iraq War and wants to end the War on Drugs, that's great. But they aren't going to be receptive to that...Huckabee has his surge right now because he appeals to them. Please, be more likely to mention the fact that he introduced the Sanctity of Life Act just a few weeks after the Roe v. Wade decision (a bill that Fred Thompson never supported in principle while in the Senate), or that he is the only Congressman to receive an A+ rating from the Gun Owners of America (GOA), or that he supports building a fence between the US and Mexico, than the fact he wants to completely change American foreign policy.

Again, the only reason I mention this is because of the fact that the Ron Paul supporters on my campus typically focus on issues such as the Patriot Act and so on; these are great for appealing to young students, but Iowa Republican caucus-goers want their candidates to be strongly pro-life, etc. (Huckabee).

thrillhouse
12-14-2007, 11:46 AM
Yeah good ideas, also mention RP's tax policies, national debt, and his consistency throughout his years in government.

And if you can, make fun of hillary. That is something all republicans/conservatives can agree on.

Good luck and keep up the good work!

Fried Hog
12-14-2007, 11:57 PM
Best not to mention any other candidate. Keep the discussion positive.

Well said JRegs85.

FirstTimeRepublican
12-15-2007, 08:02 PM