PDA

View Full Version : Huckabee's Big Mistake with the Christian Right

raiha
12-13-2007, 01:06 PM
http://republicofsc.wordpress.com/2007/12/09/fliers-attack-huckabee-in-south-carolina/

"Under the banner, “Mike Huckabee – a ‘True’ Conservative?,” the flier blasts Huckabee on immigration and taxes…."

"Huckabee is not quite as liberal another former governor from Arkansas. He seems to lack the integrity to back up his rhetoric.

I've read that he helped increase taxes because of the State's balanced budget amendment and had every intention to lower them, but time ran out.

I'm not an expert, but isn't the conservative approach generally to attempt to cut spending to balance the budget and not increasing taxes?

]Part of the reason for the "new discoveries" about Huckabee is probably rooted in his taking votes from Fred Thomson.

(I wonder if the surge of Huckabee is in direct relation to the fact that recently Thompson trashed the Confederate Battle Flag publically. As did Romney and as had McCain. The only two who have not done this are Huckabee and Ron Paul.(not counting Rudy of course)

Huckabee's views here need some air time, flier time, quickly...)

Huckabee on immigration:

In a impassioned speech before hundreds of influential Hispanic civil rights leaders from across the nation, Gov. Mike Huckabee told a captive audience Wednesday that America is great because it has always opened it doors up to people seeking a better way of life... “Pretty soon, Southern white guys like me may be in the minority,” Huckabee said jokingly as the crowd roared in laughter.
Highlights of Mike Huckabee's track record on illegal immigration:

2006: Supported President Bush’s immigration plan and claimed that opposition to Bush’s proposal was driven by “racism or nativism” and that it wasn’t amnesty. ( Ralph Hallow, “Huckabee ‘Serious’ About Presidency,” Washington Times, 5/17/06)