PDA

View Full Version : Permanent Residency..

d3m0n1z3d
12-13-2007, 07:13 AM
I've been unable to find specific information citing whether a permanent resident can own a firearm in Colorado.

I am not a Citizen, I am a permanent resident.

Anyone know where I might find such information?

Thanks in advance.

qednick
12-13-2007, 10:02 AM
I'm a permanent resident. You have all the same rights and obligations as US citizens except you cannot vote. This means you can own firearms.

Under federal law you can purchase firearms. The only extra requisites are that you prove your residence for the last 90 days. This means you'll need your last 3 months utility bills showing your current address. I always use my water bill. If you don't have utility bills in your name then you can use a lease agreement or mortgage docs showing that you live there and have lived there for at least the last 90 days.

The feds are VERY finicky. You can't use something like a TV cable bill. It has to be utility such as water or electricity.

As far as I know, the only other laws you need to worry about when it comes to state laws (for Colorado) and your permanent residency status are more to do with concealed or open carry - but there is nothing to stop you from legally purchasing a firearm.

NB: One other thing to consider is that many firearms vendors don't even know how to handle permanent residents. So purchase from a good well-known and large vendor such as Sportsmans Warehouse, etc. where they'll likely have knowledgeable staff.

Good luck!

d3m0n1z3d
12-13-2007, 02:27 PM
Thank you very much.. Unfortunately my electricity/water bill is in my fathers name, Got my permanent residency in July, though I've been here in my current home for 3 years(Previously on a visa).

Will a "Permanent Resident Card" be ample, or should I get the bills switched to my name?

Edit; Basically everything is in my fathers name, since I could not legally work till recently.

qednick
12-15-2007, 08:41 AM