PDA

View Full Version : Are Teachers Really 'Not Paid for the Work [They] Do'? Time Says Yes, Reality Begs To Differ

pcgame
09-16-2018, 03:16 PM
good article

http://reason.com/blog/2018/09/15/are-teachers-really-not-paid-for-the-wor#comment

euphemia
09-16-2018, 03:40 PM
I saw that article. That woman doesn't look like she's starving, and school benefits are usually pretty good. On a 200 day schedule, $55K would be a truckload of money. They don't really examine how fancy she lives, whether she has kids still at home, or how much the business is worth.

Rupp Arena is not open every night for events, either, so if she's picking up work there, she's not doing it every day. If she is choosing to work a second job, it's fully her choice, and it's not every day. I don't know of a school in the world that opens at 5am. Think about it.

KEEF
09-16-2018, 03:45 PM
I am a teacher with graduate degrees ontop of my bachelors. 16 year veteran, and I also have to teach night classes t the lock college too to make ends meet.

Our benefits that the article speaks about in reality are not like the benefits we teachers used to receive (which is why there is a nation wide teacher shortage)... no one wants to get into a field where you are part of a political wedge every election cycle and you cannot afford to pay your bills at a starting salary. I truly do love teaching, and the field my degrees are all in, but if I had to do it all over again, I’d get my M.D instead.

Oh, nd for the supposed “summers off,” I teach during tech summer. I had one week off this past summer.

Krugminator2
09-16-2018, 04:56 PM
I am a teacher with graduate degrees ontop of my bachelors. 16 year veteran, and I also have to teach night classes t the lock college too to make ends meet.