PDA

View Full Version : Police officers "in the business of scaring people."

JoshLowry
12-10-2007, 01:24 AM
http://www.popularmechanics.com/technology/military_law/2818211.html?page=1

:mad:

derdy
12-10-2007, 01:59 AM
This is exactly why 9/11 needs to be independently investigated.

Once people see, at the very least, it was allowed to happen the SS won't have an excuse to scare the crap out of the general populace. This article is disgusting.

derdy
12-10-2007, 02:02 AM
Furthermore, if they are so concerned about terrorism, how about sending these goons to secure our southern border? Oh yeah, if we did that then the threat of terrorism would be null and thus they wouldn't have money for all their heavy artillery and their Orwellian police state survelliance equipment.

DarkLaw
12-10-2007, 02:16 AM
As a police officer myself - I am very 'on the fence' about this.
I think their intentions are very flawed. I think it is poor execution
and if they are simply there to 'scare' the public - I do not agree with it.

I was once a 'company yes man' for the Dept. - but ever since I first heard ROn Paul's message,
it has given me the courage to stop and say, "this isn't right..." or point out the
flaws within the 'system' FROM WITHIN. I've taken a LOT of heat recently over it,
but I think I if I can change a few small things from within, I've done something good.

The Police need to get back to COMMUNITY POLICING and PROTECTING!
Get back to patrolling neighborhoods, getting to know residents, SOLVING
problems, etc.

Now, I am ALL FOR a heavily armed police dept., don't get me wrong.
I've been on the business end of a gun MORE than a few times. The police
need to be more heavily armed than "MOST" of the public - at least IN public
to deter those who WOULD harm others or commit crimes.

I know this is a sticky conversation that many take to heart and so I try and tread lightly,
but I am AGAINST an all empowering, controlling police state. Hell, we are STILL under