PDA

View Full Version : Does Rand Support a VAT Tax?

TommyJeff
11-15-2015, 08:05 PM
https://www.lewrockwell.com/lrc-blog/rand-paul-isnt-the-only-one-proposing-a-vat/

Can anyone confirm this? does Rand Paul's tax plan include a VAT Tax? if so, this is very scary and a horrible idea. how can he justify this?

sparebulb
11-15-2015, 08:13 PM
Anyone who supports a VAT tax can go fuck themselves.

TaftFan
11-15-2015, 08:22 PM
It seemed to be a limited version. Don't count me as an expert, I don't see where it adds to every level of production.

Personally, I would have left out the business tax and just settled for a higher income tax rate.

TommyJeff
11-15-2015, 08:24 PM

Does Rand?????

TommyJeff
11-15-2015, 08:25 PM
It seemed to be a limited version. Don't count me as an expert, I don't see where it adds to every level of production.

Personally, I would have left out the business tax and just settled for a higher income tax rate.

Thank you. I will take a closer look at this tax plan. I am not an expert either. Hopefully Rand can explain this possible situation.

But, if there is a 'limited VAT' in this plan(or any plan, talking in more of a theoretical perspective). Couldnt the rates of this 'VAT' be increased at a future date, causing a bigger problem on a tax most people cant 'see'?

r3volution 3.0
11-15-2015, 08:35 PM
if so, this is very scary and a horrible idea.

Why?

VAT is one of the most efficient forms of taxation.

It eliminates most of the administrative and compliance costs associated with the income tax.

Dr.3D
11-15-2015, 08:39 PM
So where is the added value?

timosman
11-15-2015, 08:40 PM
Why?

It eliminates most of the administrative and compliance costs associated with the income tax.

huh?

Krugminator2
11-15-2015, 08:42 PM
Why?

A consumption tax is the best tax in virtually every respect. It creates the fewest distortions

His proposal would require a 2/3rd vote to raise it.