PDA

View Full Version : New Host of Comedy Central, Trevor Noah, has a bromance with Rand Paul

LatinsforPaul
09-25-2015, 02:25 PM
‘The Daily Show’ Host Trevor Noah on Being ‘Sad’ For John Boehner and His Rand Paul ‘Romance’ (http://www.thedailybeast.com/articles/2015/09/25/the-daily-show-host-trevor-noah-on-being-sad-for-john-boehner-and-his-rand-paul-romance.html)

Funny enough, the American politician Noah is most enamored with at the moment is Republican senator and presidential contender Rand Paul.

“There are certain issues that I’ve seen, let’s say, from Rand Paul where I go, ‘Yeah, I like that,’ and I think that we can move forward in that regard. When it comes to Social Security reform, and looking at different ways to adjust benefits for people, there’s definitely a conversation to be had there. Now, I’m not an expert in it…But I believe progression can come from both sides.”

The new host of Comedy Central’s ‘The Daily Show’ dished on why he Stands with Rand, Social Security reform, and much more.
Despite Paul’s lackluster standing and poll numbers in the 2016 primary, Noah says it was the senator’s two debate performances thus far that impressed him so much. “He was saying things that were sane at the debates, he really was,” Noah said, referring, in part, to Paul’s less “knee-jerk,” neoconservative, invasion-happy approach to foreign policy. “He wasn’t gung-ho. He did seem thoughtful. And that is progression for me. And maybe that’s a tiny step in the right direction.”

(When asked about Noah’s comments, Paul spokesman Sergio Gor told The Daily Beast simply that Paul is “uniquely positioned to grow the GOP tent by attracting new voters and we welcome them all,” and that Paul would be open to appearing on the new latest incarnation of The Daily Show.)

Noah then likened watching Donald Trump, Carly Fiorina, and other Republican candidates to “walking through the streets of New York” and having crazy people scream at you.