PDA

View Full Version : Need advice on where to buy engagement ring

Benaiah
12-06-2007, 05:12 AM
I am going to get engaged so I have to go buy a stupid ring. I was wondering if anyone here has any advice on where to get the best bang for the buck.

Online or offline? Where at?

I'm just looking to get a solitaire that is white gold or platinum. I'm a broke college student so I'd like to spend less than a grand.

TheEvilDetector
12-06-2007, 05:13 AM
Congratulations on getting engaged!
:)

EvilEngineer
12-06-2007, 05:18 AM
I am going to get engaged so I have to go buy a stupid ring. I was wondering if anyone here has any advice on where to get the best bang for the buck.

Online or offline? Where at?

I'm just looking to get a solitaire that is white gold or platinum. I'm a broke college student so I'd like to spend less than a grand.

Welcome to my world =) I'm in the same boat.

I took my girlfriend ring shopping to get all of the details right ahead of time... which saved me a great deal of hassle.

Ring I'm getting:

1/2 carat princess cut solitaire, set in white gold.

What the real pisser is that comparing synthetic diamonds to real diamonds. $3 for a synthetic diamond that no one could tell the difference... or $400 for the "real" thing.

PatriotG
12-06-2007, 05:31 AM
First off congratulations!
second...dont do it! (Just kidding)

My advice to you is dont buy online.
When it comes to diamonds the best thing to do is try to go through someone you know or a friend of a friend etc.

For the kind of money you will lay out for a rock you want to be sure your getting a good quality stone, or even the real thing.

These days it almost impossible to tell the difference between a well made zircon and the real thing

And you can be rest assured there are merchants out there that sell low quality for high price.

Color and purity are the most important.
There's lots of tips online.

Good luck and all the best to you

Congrats
PatriotG

zebov
12-06-2007, 05:42 AM