PDA

View Full Version : Is cursive necessary?

Alex
12-03-2007, 05:37 PM
Is it better to write in cursive, printing, or just type it?

I'm incredibly slow at writing in cursive because I never use it. I'm a high school student but none of the teachers really care whether I print or use cursive. It's also harder to read. I could of course write one letter and photocopy it, just changing the names and signing it.

Printing is legible, although it isn't as fast as typing. I could probably handwrite every one of my letters if I print.

Typing is easy to read but far less personal. It's also a lot quicker.

I think there is a consensus here that handwriting is best, but does cursive vs. printing matter much?

forsmant
12-03-2007, 05:40 PM
Typed letters are more professional and easy to read. Plus there is spell check and grammar check that should be used. That is why we invented that stuff to make letter writing easier. I do not know why you would want to handwrite a letter anymore unless you don't have a computer.

Alex
12-03-2007, 05:48 PM
Typed letters are more professional and easy to read. Plus there is spell check and grammar check that should be used. That is why we invented that stuff to make letter writing easier. I do not know why you would want to handwrite a letter anymore unless you don't have a computer.

Well I'm handwriting them in part because I agreed to handwrite them here (http://www.rp-supporters.com/letters.html)

and because of comments like this
And handwrite the address on the envelope. People will often not pay much attention to printed addresses. It looks like junk mail.

forsmant
12-03-2007, 05:50 PM
That person claims to speak for people. I think those are just his personal bias'

rory096
12-03-2007, 05:51 PM
Handwriting looks more personal and makes it look like you took special care to write to this person. A printed out piece of paper isn't nearly as personal. I don't think it's necessary to write in cursive, though.

forsmant