PDA

View Full Version : Are we over militarizing our police? I give my take this morning on WFAA Channel 8

Jonathan Stickland
08-17-2014, 07:04 PM
This morning I had the chance to discuss the possible over militarization of our local police on WFAA's Inside Texas Politics. I believe we have and it is coming at a high cost to tax payers. This country was founded on the idea of self governance, do you agree?

http://www.wfaa.com/video?id=271582901&sec=2008281

Jonathan Stickland
08-17-2014, 07:05 PM
Giving the DFW a little taste of LIBERTY every chance I get =)

Deborah K
08-17-2014, 07:07 PM
Yes, I agree. (I can't get that link to open...)

Jonathan Stickland
08-17-2014, 07:08 PM
Yes, I agree. (I can't get that link to open...)

My segment is the first 8 minutes of the video in the link above. Hope that helps!

NorthCarolinaLiberty
08-17-2014, 07:23 PM
I'm no expert on speaking, public appearances, etc., but I think that's a good segment. I've been on TV twice and know it's hard to say everything you want to say in such a short segment.

Even the practical arguments used by order enforcement falls apart upon closer scrutiny. Equipment like heavy vehicles is a poor return on investment because of pick-up/delivery cost, low gas mileage, storage, modifications, regular maintenance, training, etc.

HOLLYWOOD
08-17-2014, 08:52 PM
For the drop in crime since the early 1990s... you could also include "FREAKANOMICS" (http://freakonomics.com/) data coverage into the mix, it's far from being just the brute force of the Police State. Balko did such a good job back in 2006 with Overkill: The Rise of Paramilitary Police Raids in America (http://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=web&cd=1&cad=rja&uact=8&ved=0CB8QFjAA&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.cato.org%2Fpublications%2Fwhi te-paper%2Foverkill-rise-paramilitary-police-raids-america&ei=kWbxU5TPHY33oAT86IDwDw&usg=AFQjCNHl6TTgbRvhOqJJXurHxY9YWOxFQA&bvm=bv.73231344,d.cGU)