PDA

View Full Version : Is one of my city's ordinances unconstitutional?

Simran
03-18-2014, 08:59 PM
Alright, guys. My friend Litepresense told me to post here the debate I've been having recently as I went over my city's book of ordinances.

This ordinance pertains to the first amendment, and how they limit "advertising on vehicles" to be unlawful within city limits. I find this to be unconstitutional and wish to have it repealed or amended. I put together a small writing regarding the issue, and I'd like you guys to go over it and tell me what you think. I don't mind bringing this up to my city's police chief and/or city commissioners.

https://docs.google.com/document/d/1neMQzxk_hdlDrs674r5gfBKKiKnMCp8lPlswy2ChQ3k/edit?usp=sharing

If you feel anything should be changed within the paper or added, please comment below. :)

--Simran

angelatc
03-18-2014, 09:53 PM
Welcome to the forums!

I am not a lawyer - I've never worked for a lawyer, dated a lawyer, or been related to a lawyer. I Googled "Supreme Court advertising on cars" and only got one hit, but it's pretty pertinent to your case: http://supreme.justia.com/cases/federal/us/336/106/case.html

In that case, SCOTUS ruled that the city had the right to prohibit advertising on vehicles if the vehicle was not advertising the business related to that vehicle. Meaning that a guy couldn't rent out advertising space on the side of vehicles. http://supreme.justia.com/cases/federal/us/336/106/case.html

Looks like they didn't approach it from a 1st Amendment standpoint though.

Is this a petty little law designed to try to keep people from skirting the sign laws by getting their vehicles wrapped and parking them by the road?

Simran
03-18-2014, 10:14 PM
Welcome to the forums!