PDA

View Full Version : Maximizing Blimp Utilization - Mathematical Model

KevinF
11-29-2007, 08:57 PM
I am an expert in operations research modeling, so I figure to do my part for RP I am willing to donate my skills to this cause by volunteering to develop a mathematical model to maximize the utilization of the blimp and generate some optimal schedule candidates.

If the organizers can come up with a list of locations and time windows, along with some basic data on travel speed and required stops, I'd be willing to work on a mathematical optimization model. There's a classical problem in my field called the "Traveling Salesman Problem (TSP)" which is very similar to this situation, but in this case we'd have the added complexity of time windows yielding a TSPTW.

Let me know and I'll give you my contact information and we can discuss further how to go about doing this.

Best Regards,

Kevin F.

alexpasch
11-29-2007, 10:55 PM
Just curious...do you use Excel's Solver, some other software (and if so is it third party or proprietary)

I'm assuming the model you're referring to would entail the optimization of a variable given simultaneous equations and subject to certain constraints...

bbachtung
11-29-2007, 10:58 PM
Start by checking out the maximum number of hours per day that the blimp can run.

KevinF
11-29-2007, 11:19 PM
Just curious...do you use Excel's Solver, some other software (and if so is it third party or proprietary)

I'm assuming the model you're referring to would entail the optimization of a variable given simultaneous equations and subject to certain constraints...

You are correct, that it would be the optimization of an objective function subject to a number of constraints. However, Excel Solver is actually a bit too limited to handle combinatorial optimization problems such as a TSP. Excel Solver is really only useful for very small scale problems, primarily of the continuous linear variety.