PDA

View Full Version : Open Letter to CA Senator Kevin de Leon (D)

ZENemy
01-22-2014, 11:48 AM
Simply Brilliant.

http://www.thebangswitch.com/open-letter-to-ca-senator-kevin-de-leon-d/

Sir,

My name is Matt *****. I am a full-time deputy sheriff and have been so employed for 17 years. I am a court recognized firearms expert, a lifelong shooting sports enthusiast and in my spare time, I write firearms and firearm related gear reviews for several media outlets, both online and print.

I am writing this letter as I attempt to sit through the YouTube video (http://youtu.be/xI6eE_FAwao) of your recent press conference given on January 13, 2014. As someone quite knowledgeable about firearms, I find it extremely difficult to listen to your presentation because almost nothing you said about these “Ghost Guns” (a term you used repeatedly that I have never once heard before) is factually correct.

I would like to try and both educate you at the same time as I dispel with the lies and obfuscations you presented to the media during that press conference.

3D printed plastic guns do exist, but even the one example that was made from the most plastic of any of them (the “Liberator”) still contained a metal firing pin. It was also a single shot pistol, not a semi-automatic firearm.
Side Note: firearm ammunition is all still made with metallic cartridge cases and metallic projectiles so even if the gun could pass undetected through a metal detector, the ammo could not
3D printed metal guns also do exist, and there is a semi-automatic handgun (a 1911) that was produced in that manner that has been fired extensively, but that technology is far from cheap or readily available. Additionally, since it is made of metal, it cannot pass through metal detectors undetected.