PDA

View Full Version : Long Time Libertarian, New Potential Activist

Bailly
11-01-2013, 06:30 PM
Hi, I'm new to the forums and am possibly looking at getting more involved with politics. I've followed Ron Paul's activities and views for some time now and agree with most of them. Recently, I've been more motivated to get involved, mostly because I am strongly concerned about health care 20-30 years down the road, when I'll actually need it. Although, I'm probably more focused on the economy, since by fixing that, it would solve not only the health care problem, but several others, as well. However, I am unsure how to start, even though I looked at the activist topics there.

Bailly
11-01-2013, 06:35 PM
I have a couple questions about that:

1) How can I learn more about how libertarianism works?

I suppose I'm thinking of how to get an education on the subject. While I have a college degree, my education on politics is very limited, so my knowledge of the libertarian philosophy is very general. I know what Ron Paul says, but don't always know the how and why of it. I do seem to have a skill for being persuasive and building a consensus. However, when I run into people who are far more educated than I am, I have a difficult time responding effectively, since I'm not as well-versed on the issues. I would guess they don't have classes for this sort of thing. What about books?