PDA

View Full Version : Kerry: Internet 'Makes It Much Harder to Govern'

green73
08-13-2013, 06:58 PM
http://ecx.images-amazon.com/images/I/514nQV4VSbL._SY346_PJlook-inside-v2,TopRight,1,0_SH20_.jpg
America's Secret Establishment
An Introduction to the Order of Skull & Bones (http://www.amazon.com/Americas-Secret-Establishment-Introduction-Order/dp/0972020748)

Speaking to State Department personnel at the U.S. Embassy in Brasilia, Brazil, on Tuesday, Secretary of State John Kerry said that "this little thing called the Internet ... makes it much harder to govern."

He also said that "ever since the end of the Cold War, forces have been unleashed that were tamped down for centuries by dictators."

"I’m a student of history, and I love to go back and read a particularly great book like [Henry] Kissinger’s book about diplomacy where you think about the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries and the balance of power and how difficult it was for countries to advance their interests and years and years of wars," Kerry said to a gathering of State Department employees and their families.

"And we sometimes say to ourselves, boy, aren’t we lucky," Kerry continued.

"Well, folks," he said, "ever since the end of the Cold War, forces have been unleashed that were tamped down for centuries by dictators, and that was complicated further by this little thing called the internet and the ability of people everywhere to communicate instantaneously and to have more information coming at them in one day than most people can process in months or a year.