PDA

View Full Version : U.S. Border Agency Loans Out Drones to Spot Fishing Violations

KEEF
07-10-2013, 12:17 PM
I am a biologist/ecologist by training and education and understand the reasons for conservation and proper hunting, fishing, etc. but really WTF?

https://twitter.com/G_fasciatus/status/355027557017587712

July 09, 2013U.S. Border Agency Loans Out Drones to Spot Fishing Violations

By Ben Romans
http://www.fieldandstream.com/files/imagecache/photo-article/photo/38356/drones-web2-articleLarge.jpg
Despite controversy surrounding the use of drones over U.S. territory, the U.S. Customs and Border Protection Agency has increasingly loaned drones over the last three years for tasks like spotting fishing violations, missing person searches, and inspecting levees on the Mississippi River, according to The New York Times (http://www.nytimes.com/2013/07/04/business/us-border-agency-is-a-frequent-lender-of-its-drones.html?hp).
Proponents of drones say the units are a valuable resource that provides an unmatched level of surveillance. But critics point out that monitoring individuals without probable cause or a warrant amounts to an invasion of privacy.
Flight logs show the FBI, the North Dakota National Guard, the Texas Department of Public Safety and the U.S. Forest Service have used the unmanned aerial vehicles in the past, but border agency says it has strict privacy policies governing use.

What do you think? Would you mind being watched when you’re in the woods or on the water?

tod evans
07-10-2013, 12:28 PM
Think of all the fines government can collect from wayward fishermen...

Pay no attention that most are trying to feed their families or that just getting the damn drone airborne cost more than government will ever collect..

Government justifying itself....

KEEF
07-10-2013, 12:35 PM
My question is, what if you are Native American? Don't poaching laws not apply to them?