PDA

View Full Version : Obama accuses Romney of suffering from Romnesia.

torchbearer
10-19-2012, 11:35 AM
http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2012/10/19/romnesia_n_1987800.html?utm_hp_ref=politics

FAIRFAX, Va. -- At a misty rally designed to gin up enthusiasm among women voters, President Barack Obama's strongest riff was a mockery of Mitt Romney's effort to showcase a more moderate front, coining the tactical shift as a case of "Romnesia."
From his remarks midday Friday on the campus of George Mason University:

We have got to name this condition he is going through. I think it is called Romnesia. I think that's what it is called. Now I'm not a medical doctor. But I do want to go over some of the symptoms with you because I want to make sure nobody else catches it. If you say you're for equal pay for equal work but you keep refusing to say whether or not you will sign a bill that protects equal pay for equal work, you might have Romnesia.
If you say women should have access to contraceptive care, but you support legislation that would let employers deny contraceptive care, you might have a case of Romnesia.
If you say you will protect a women's right to choose but you stand up in a primary debate and say you'd be delighted to sign a law outlawing that right to choose in all cases, then you have definitely got Romnesia.

Obama went through a number of other so-called cases, including tax cuts and the coal industry. The neologism got hearty laughs and applause, especially as the president informed the crowd that the condition was covered under his health care law.
"If you come down with a case of Romnesia and you can't seem to remember the policies that are still on your website, or the promises you have made over the six years you've been running for president, here is the good news: Obamacare covers pre-existing conditions," Obama bellowed. "We can fix you up. We've got a cure. We can make you well."