PDA

View Full Version : Robert's Rules of order: need help with this scenerio

vechorik
03-26-2012, 11:29 AM
I'm new to RRO and we don't have parliamentary help in my state. (Most of the chairmen at the county-level don't know RRO either!) Is the following logical and is there a better method to battle the Credentials Committee?

I found something interesting regarding the fact that I predict the Credentials Committee will present a slate of "approved delegates" and ask for a vote on them alone. Seems when a committee does this, it's the same as a motion that has already been seconded. Debate should follow, then a vote.

From RRO:
"42. There are two simple rules regarding the need for a second to a motion. If a motion is made by direction of a board of directors or duly appointed committee of more than one person, no second is required. Otherwise, if the wording of the motion begins with, “I move” or “I appeal”, a second is required."

So, cannot the Credentials Committee motion then be amended to include 5 (or some other number) delegates nominated by the elected delegates?

I read where this was done at another state. The extra delegate names were added, but it was obvious that the first names were the ones the committee wanted and the added names (weren't typed and looked added) so the original names won. Another motion (or amendment) would have to be made that the delegate list be amended and re-written in alphabetical order.

From RRO: "27. The three basic processes of amendment are to (a) insert or add, (b) strike out, and (c) strike out and insert. 24. The motion to Amend modifies or clarifies the meaning of a pending motion before the pending motion itself is acted upon." So -- we would have to vote on the amendment (majority) BEFORE the Credentials Committee's main motion could be voted on. This only requires a majority vote (50% plus 1).