PDA

View Full Version : Robert's Rules Experts:What Could Have Been Done to Prevent the Incident in Clarke County?

Matt Davidson
03-15-2012, 01:18 PM
Luckily most of the convention is captured on video and now up on youtube. I am not an expert on Robert's Rules, but I am wondering:

1) Could anything have happened previously (before the video begins) that would have made the outcome legitimate. For example, under suspension of rules would this have been allowed?

2) Could anything have been said or done to prevent the close of the meeting or to continue the meeting in a "rump" fashion after the meeting was "adjourned"?

sailingaway
03-15-2012, 01:29 PM
I will say that they ignore Roberts' rules when they feel like it (watch the Denver convention spread as us being out of control when THEY were ignoring rules and our guys were yelling 'Point of order' by the HUNDREDS to enforce them....)

Videos are ultimately good. Inviting media. But that doesn't help your rules issue, so I hope those who know will answer that.

LostNFoundNTx
03-15-2012, 02:21 PM
Here are my two replies:

At 1:35, the speaker said "I move the slate be accepted." This is a main motion and open for debate, which could then be brought to a close by calling the question with a 2/3 vote. However, the immediately following call for a vote in the video by the chair was out of order, and a point of order could be called, but only before the first vote is cast. If the point of order is ignored, it can be resolved as I described in another thread (http://www.ronpaulforums.com/showthread.php?367045-Robert-s-Rules-of-Order-questions-and-answers&p=4278972&viewfull=1#post4278972) (RONR (11th ed.), pp. 650-651).

The chair does not have to recount the vote if the division is used as a dilatory tactic when the result of a full vote is clear.