PDA

View Full Version : Robert's Rules of Order: questions and answers

vechorik
03-14-2012, 08:05 AM
I'm studying Robert's Rules of order.

No matter what state, it seems when meetings get unruly and personal attacks start happening, it's because Robert's Rules are ignored.
The first and most-important rule is that you address NO ONE other than the chairman. If everyone did this, order could be maintained.

So, the meeting is getting unruly and "point of order" is ignored (probably because the chairman is dumb, or intentionally wants to ignore you).
People are addressing one another, instead of addressing the chairman.
The chairman doesn't have the meeting under control.
What do I do?

sailingaway
03-14-2012, 08:08 AM
good question. So far them selectively ignoring the rules seems to be totally fine with them and our people in Denver had to overwhelm them, essentially, and of course then they showed a clip starting in the middle saying we acted badly instead of them ignoring the rules.

I hope someone can give you some advice on this.

nobody's_hero
03-14-2012, 08:08 AM
ATTN MODERATORS:

Please sticky a thread on "Robert's Rules".

Obviously there are a lot of questions on this.

gte811i
03-14-2012, 08:13 AM
I say you get the floor and make a motion to remove the chair due to his inability to obey robert's rules and maintain fairness.

Removal of the chair only takes 51% majority.

Vote a chairman in who understand the rules and maintains order and fairness.

WilliamC
03-14-2012, 08:33 AM
Are all aspects of parliamentary procedure subject to simple majority rule?

If so this suggests two strategies, one where you have a majority of delegates and one where you don't.

If you don't then some sort of stealth delegate strategy is appropriate until such time as there is a majority.

Then simply change whatever rules by majority to favor the candidate of preference.