PDA

View Full Version : The truth about college kids voting

nyrgoal99
02-29-2012, 07:32 AM
I graduated within the last 5+ years so I have some insight into this

The problem is not that the young people are not voting. The problem is that most do not change their voter ID when they go to college.

Example, I lived at a college in NJ, but my hometown was in another county. I did not reregister in my college town.

Fast forward- Many kids go out of state. So while a student may go to Michigan St, he may live in NJ and still be registered in NJ.

The rallies you see are all Paul voters. They just may not vote in the one little area where the college town is located

Lindsey
02-29-2012, 07:40 AM
I also agree with this assessment. I never changed my registration during college. I remember going home to vote on election day, because I had missed the deadline for an absentee ballot.

A. Havnes
02-29-2012, 07:44 AM
Excellent insight. I've never gone to an out-of-State college, but I definitely see the problem.

klamath
02-29-2012, 08:43 AM
True. RP does well with republican college ages voters and the large collage rallies show this, but the voters in those rallies are really spread out over 50 states.

Okie RP fan
02-29-2012, 08:56 AM
I've heard one major issue is that many college age adults don't register because they don't want jury duty. Seriously, I've heard that is a major factor in not registering.

My question is, are these people at least PfH, donating (what little they can) wearing RP shirts, setting up Youth for Ron Paul meetings, etc.? I understand many of them are busy, I am too, I'm in the current situation most of them are in as well. But, surely some of them could find something to do.

Oh, and by the way, the issue of college kids and voting is sensitive to some on here, just so you know. Some think that college kids are the golden ones who lead us into victories every election day, when that is clearly not the case.

Canderson
02-29-2012, 09:07 AM