PDA

View Full Version : Environment: Hypothetical environmental issue under a Ron Paul administration.

germanyt
02-27-2012, 09:12 AM
I'm a rural land owner who raises cattle for a living. I'm not struggling for money but certainly not wealthy. Just behind the 20 acres of property I own there is a utility company. Let's call it PG&E. Contaminated water leaking over the course of 10 years destroys my fresh water supply (well water) and starts making my cattle sick. Then my kids get sick from playing in the yard all the time. I suffered tens of thousands of dollars in lost revenue from dead cows and now my hospital bills are racking up from the ailments my family is dealing with.

What do I do?

klamath
02-27-2012, 09:22 AM
Sue.

germanyt
02-27-2012, 10:55 AM
Sue.

Who sues who and with what money? I'm just a rural cattle farmer with 1 high school kid and another in college. I don't have the money to hire an attorney. Especially not one that can take on a multi billion dollar company's legal department.

Also, let's assume that the pollution and contamination doesn't bother me. Or it's affecting an area of my property that isn't really a concern of mine. Does that make it okay for the company to pollute my back yard? If I own 1000 acres of land and PG&E offers me a billion dollars to dump poison on my land, is that okay? Is that legal?

Liberty4life
02-27-2012, 11:06 AM
I'm a rural land owner who raises cattle for a living. I'm not struggling for money but certainly not wealthy. Just behind the 20 acres of property I own there is a utility company. Let's call it PG&E. Contaminated water leaking over the course of 10 years destroys my fresh water supply (well water) and starts making my cattle sick. Then my kids get sick from playing in the yard all the time. I suffered tens of thousands of dollars in lost revenue from dead cows and now my hospital bills are racking up from the ailments my family is dealing with.

What do I do?