PDA

View Full Version : Health Care: Question about Ron and "War on Abortion"

FreeTraveler
01-04-2012, 05:38 PM
Yes, I know that term is a little front-loaded, but it's intentional.

Dr. Paul knows, beyond a shadow of a doubt, that Alcohol Prohibition was a disaster for this country.

Dr. Paul has watched over his lifetime as Prohibition Redux, the War on Drugs, has destroyed our inner cities, empowered and enriched law-breaking gangs of thugs, contributed greatly to the loss of personal freedom through things such as Terry stops, and provided the rationale for the transformation of our police forces, intended to "protect and serve" the citizenry, into militarized units that break down doors and kill pets, then ask questions later.

As a doctor, I'm sure he's well aware that a few scant decades ago, when abortion was illegal, some 50,000 women a year died from back-alley abortions. We know that the burden, as with the war on drugs, fell most heavily on the poor and minorities who couldn't afford the 'back-door' solutions such as travel to another country or state that were available to others.

Given all that information, and knowing from history that prohibition has never worked in any form, does anyone really believe that Abortion Prohibition will be successful, when past experience with alcohol, drugs, and abortions themselves tell us otherwise? Won't Abortion Prohibition bring back all the ugly problems we're trying to end Drug Prohibition to eliminate?

Just to get it out there, I think Roe v. Wade was a pragmatic decision and that a 24-week limit is a compromise the country can live with.

eduardo89
01-04-2012, 05:42 PM
Just to get it out there, I think Roe v. Wade was a pragmatic decision and that a 24-week limit is a compromise the country can live with.

I know this doesnt answer your question but this is a 23 week old baby

http://www.lovingit.co.uk/images/2010-06_23-week-baby.jpg

So no, 24 weeks is not a "compromise" I can live with.

FreeTraveler