PDA

View Full Version : Teaparty.org - Fraud?



Anonymous
11-08-2007, 10:48 PM
Ok,

go to the teaparty.org page and click "view source"

find where it says

<form method="post" action="http://www.aweber.com/scripts/addlead.pl">

See the root domain of that?

www.aweber.com


check out that site...

right on the front page

"Learn About the Most Reliable, Easiest,
Cost Effective Tool to Capture Visitor Sign Ups,
Send Unlimited Follow Ups and Newsletters
Increasing Your Profits."

Now, it is possible he is just using this to track a mailing list, but there are many more, far simpler ways to do this...it's very improbable. Can I get another opinion on this?

Here (http://upload2.net/page/download/dpNRPF19ZqZAWe9/teapartyorg.txt.html)is a copy of the source just incase.


Update - Proof .Net and .Org are the same
From the TeaParty.Net source

<frameset border=0 rows="100%,*" noresize>
<frame marginwidth=0 marginheight=0 frameborder=0 framespacing=0 name="TOPFRAME" src="http://www.teaparty07.org"
noresize>
</frameset>

The Missing Proof
Okay, if this is phishing he should have other sites out there, and he is likely to use the same tracking service.
do you see:
<input type="hidden" name="meta_web_form_id" value="1374910195">

This looks like his tracking number. We need to find this in other known phishing sites. I'm looking for a way to search within HTML.

Action
Notice that alot of his Content are just hot-linked from other sites.

background="http://www.ronpaulnation.com/toys/rpn800x600.jpg"
src="http://www.studentsoftheworld.info/sites/country/img/13343_boston-tea-party-762868.jpg"
src="http://www.amoeba.com/dynamic-images/blog/image.jpg"
src="http://www.myoops.org/twocw/mit/NR/rdonlyres/History/21H-104JFall-2004/EAE5387B-6D4C-470C-BB54-3BD866DE5CD0/0/chp_bostontparty.jpg" src="http://www.defenseindustrydaily.com/images/MISC_Boston_Tea_Party_lg.jpg"
background="http://www.htflag.com/media/watermark1.jpg"
src="http://www.blingyblob.com/countdown/BlingyCountdown18.swf"
http://www.ronpaulpresident2008.com/images/bumper_stickers_cagepress/ron_paul_400px.jpg

Without explicit permission hot-linking is infact illegal. If this is proven we need to contact these people and have them move or take down or block these images.

Suspects
Now i'm not saying any of these people are guity, but they do have some early connection to it.
sassyami (http://digg.com/users/sassyami) - Submitted site to DIGG

Rad Joe (http://www.ronpaulforums.com/showthread.php?t=33020&highlight=teaparty07.org&page=2) - Possibly the first submission to this site. I have roughly tracked him down.


Notes
-the whois information is Protected by Protected Domain Services at 125 Rampart Way, Denver, Colorado. I'm looking for more information

-When was this site first created? If we can find a post around the same time, thats a likely suspect.

Anonymous
11-08-2007, 10:54 PM
We can stop this by contacting the people who host his script.

LibertyOfOne
11-08-2007, 10:59 PM
Who are you?

hard@work
11-08-2007, 11:02 PM
Thanks anon.


http://www.ronpaulforums.com/showthread.php?t=34323

I'll see what I can do w/ DNS listings and the script devs tomorrow.

hard@work
11-08-2007, 11:03 PM
edited

LibertyOfOne
11-08-2007, 11:04 PM
Fud

inibo
11-08-2007, 11:06 PM
Well, a word or two from the folks running .org and .net would certainly clear the air.

hard@work
11-08-2007, 11:09 PM
Well, a word or two from the folks running .org and .net would certainly clear the air.


Yup.

moberley
11-08-2007, 11:13 PM
Ok,

Now, it is possible he is just using this to track a mailing list, but there are many more, far simpler ways to do this...it's very improbable. Can I get another opinion on this?



Well, hard@work already punched a bunch of holes in this reasoning, but I just thought I'd point out that the TeaParty07.com site uses the third party site FeedBurner for the same purpose (as did the ThisNovember5th.com).

Anonymous
11-08-2007, 11:14 PM
Who are you?

We are you deep down inside. (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RFjU8bZR19A)

hard@work
11-08-2007, 11:15 PM
Well, hard@work already punched a bunch of holes in this reasoning, but I just thought I'd point out that the TeaParty07.com site uses the third party site FeedBurner for the same purpose (as did the ThisNovember5th.com).


You know what, we have reports of fake websites out now. I'm editing my lols out.

goRPaul
11-08-2007, 11:32 PM
Hey, fine piece of investigative web reporting, but it's still pretty impossible to find who actually created the site and what their motives are. I would bet that he/she/they are legit supporters, so until we hear from them I would keep the conspiracy crap down to a minimum. They'll come out and say something, just wait for it.

CJLauderdale4
11-08-2007, 11:36 PM
I also noticed that the counter for the number of subscribers they are tracking (to see how much money we could raise) IS NOT incrementing when I subscribed...

Something fishy here...