PDA

View Full Version : Independent Retail Pharmacy - looking for input to save MY industry

Eryxis
10-27-2011, 10:29 PM
First, full disclosure and a little background. I am a pharmacist, and business owner. I own two traditional retail pharmacies (or mom and pop stores if you wish) and they wal-mart discussion thread has made me want to seek input from those I can trust to tell me the truth. I'm going to set up my situation which is similar to virtually all other small pharmacies in the country. In certain states things may be better or worse than what I portray, but this should be fairly representative. Also, I would like to state that I'm aware that the licensing system inherently makes competition expensive and unbalanced, and I wish it would disappear- it doesn't seem likely to in the near future however, so I'm living within those limitations.

OK, the general state of this industry is that you receive ~90% of your total payment from third parties (aka Pharmacy Benefits Managers or "insurance companies") and roughly 10% comes from self-pay or cash pay customers. The easy part to deal with is the cash customers. Most pharmacies make relatively good margins on these customers even with the advent of $4.00 and free prescriptions. If everyone were paying out of pocket for their prescriptions I would not be making this post.