PDA

View Full Version : Had a T.V. interview today- I'm a novice- how do I learn to do these well?

Kalebthefinn
10-10-2011, 12:51 PM
Had a random call out of the blue today from a tv station wanting to interview me in response to all the Ron Paul signs in our town. I have no idea how they got my name or thought I had anything to do with it but happily obliged. I suppose I'm at the mercy of the editors now. Besides the obvious (I dressed professionally, etc) how do you train yourself to be a good interview? How do you practice? Of course I think of all the things I shoulda said after etc but I am a complete novice at this so it's inevitable I blunder. Anyone have any advice? Direction?

undergroundrr
10-10-2011, 12:59 PM
Compact answers with some power behind them come across best. Long rambling answers that don't close firmly usually don't play well. Of course, a sense of sincerity is the most important thing of all.

noneedtoaggress
10-10-2011, 01:04 PM
Learn as much about the topic as you can.

tribute_13
10-10-2011, 01:07 PM
Just stick to the basics. Correct misinformation. They're probably just going to ask you what its all about, what you find palatable about the Ron Paul campaign and they'll probably ask you about basic platform details. It's a puff piece I'm sure, so it'll be short and concise. Therefore your answers will have to be short and concise to maximize the message. Try to mention his Reagan endorsement and Ron Paul being one of only four republican congressman to endorse Reagan in 1976. When they ask you why you love him so much, let them know he's a true Reagan conservative. Limited government, an emphasis on individual freedom and 30+ years of active service to this country trying to change the system by looking at the causes and not the symptoms.

Proph
10-10-2011, 02:08 PM
IMO, watch some of Adam Kokesh's videos. He's great at that stuff.